A DAY IN THE LIFE

Despite my efforts at keeping this blog updated, the results are obviously lacking. So instead of another apology… (oops, I think that’s what that just was. I’ll stop there.)

Last Sunday was not a typical Sunday for me. Excited to share some photos I had taken and some stories to go with them, I began to write a blog post about my atypical day. That’s not what’s in this post though. I decided it wouldn’t make much sense to share my out of the norm day when I haven’t even shared a normal day. While it seems a little silly to me to share what one of my days typically looks like, I realize that my normal may be quite different from your normal. I’ll let you be the judge.

After looking out the window to make my initial forecast for the day’s weather, (which is really pointless with the ever changing weather here), I make may way to the kitchen where I look out over the backyard hoping to be greeted by a clear view of Muhabura. Okay, I actually go to the Kitchen to make my tea, but checking the volcano visibility while I’m there is obviously a must.

IMG_5505

As I pull back the curtains to unlock (and un pad-lock) the front door, Einstein’s whining gets louder in anticipation of what he thinks is a chance to come inside. As soon as he sees me, the dog makes himself comfortable again. He knows I’m not going to let him in. I greet our night guard Everiste who is most likely working in the yard as I make my way out of the gate. With consIMG_8313truction going on at the neighbor’s house across the street, these days my first step onto the street is met with several sets of eyes as the all of the workers turn their heads towards me. After a simple, “Mwaramutse,” (goodmorning) to break their stares, I make my way down the dirt road soaking in bits of early morning sun and the sounds and smells that come with it. I catch pieces of conversations from young students on their way to school or people commuting to work on the back of bicycles, as they pass by, rattling down the bumpy road. I pass by women who look as though they’ve already been hard at work for many hours. I wonder where they are coming from and going to.

IMG_8316

Opening the gate at the schoolhouse, I am always greeted by some beautiful flowers, and if I’m lucky, some sun rays to go with them. My next greeting isn’t quite as soft, but is just as bright and beautiful! It is a rare occasion for me to be the first one at the school. One student is usually sitting quietly on the front porch waiting, until I am within distance of a running hug.

Since you probably know more about my preschoolers than anything else about my life in Rwanda, I’ll fast-forward to the end of the work day. After a glimpse of my student’s practicing for their potential future professions. They deserve their own post with plenty of space for me to brag on their progress.

IMG_7886

Somehow, the day goes comes and goes, and by the time I begin to make my way home, the sun has already begun its descent. The evening sky beckons to me as I leave the school. Occasionally it is successful in enticing me to take the slightly longer way home for a better view of the volcanoes and setting sun.

IMG_8455IMG_7939

My time at home is usually just a quick break before heading out to dinner at the home of one of the missionary families here, or a night of pizza and Euchre with some friends. And after that, well, it’s usually around 8pm and my night ends not long after…right back where it began.

So there you have it, a typical life in the day of Mary in Rwanda. Some seem to think that living in Africa means a life of constant adventure. While there is potential for adventure (just as there is anywhere), the day-to-day here probably isn’t much different from there.  It’s just in a different setting, with a slightly different twist.

IMG_4925

One comment

  1. The ordinary done with extraordinary love…that’s my girl (God’s girl really). These pictures are exquisite, especially the sun-streaked opening flower. I love the occupation clothing the preschoolers are wearing.

Leave a Reply

